Is ghee dairy free may seem a simple question but it is actually not.

Have you ever thought that ghee or clarified butter is made of milk but this milk product is ingestible for lactose intolerant people?

Have you ever wondered that although produced from perishable milk, ghee is a shelf-stable consistent kitchen staple?

Ghee, being a purely milky fat is not like usual dairy products in many aspects. But what’s the reason behind the unique characteristics of ghee? Why ghee is called a versatile cooking oil?

Let’s take a look.

Why ghee is safe for lactose intolerant people?

The making process of ghee is solely responsible for its unique character.  In ghee making process, milk butter gets heated and stays boiling.  The boiling process gradually eliminates lactose and casein from this milky fat.

It has been tested that lactose and casein are the two milk ingredients that often trigger allergy for lactose intolerant people.

Ghee is a dairy product

Although ghee is a dairy product, it is free from lactose and casein and that makes it risk free for lactose intolerants.

Ghee is certainly not a dairy free item as it is made of milk butter, but it is not allergic for dairy intolerant people either.

How ghee is healthy?

Organic cow ghee is also called organic clarified butter. Nutritionists and dieticians call it healthy because of its multi nutrient enriched content. Pure cow ghee contains vitamins, antioxidants, Medium chain fatty acids, etc. Take a look here, how these nutrients contribute in health benefits of ghee consumers.

Ghee contains vitamin A, D, E, and K2.  These are all fat soluble and healthy friendly vitamins. Moderate consumption of ghee along with active lifestyle helps in maintaining heart health.

Vitamin A helps in brain development as well as it helps in maintaining good health of eyes.

Multivitamins in Ghee promotes immunity and increases fertility power of humans.

Ghee contains Butyrate, which helps in maintaining healthy colon.

Ghee contain omega 3, 6 and CLA that helps in weight loss if you can coupled your lifestyle with exercise, healthy diet, and adequate rest.

Ghee in pregnancy diet boosts fetus’ health as well as it boosts the health of the carrying mother.

What makes ghee versatile?

Besides the general query “is ghee dairy free”, pure cow ghee is also called a versatile cooking oil.  There are some strong reasons being calling ghee versatile.

Ghee can be used in all types of cooking like barbeque, baking, deep drying, sautéing, slow cooking etc.  It is considered as a safe cooking oil because of higher smoke point of this dairy product.

Besides its use in cooking as oil, ghee can be consumed as raw.  You can add it to roast as spread and you can add it your tea and coffee for converting your morning beverage into an energy drink.

Culinary experts use Ghee in cooking of both veg and non-veg dishes.  Similarly it is used in making dessert dishes.

Ghee as a kitchen staple

This kitchen staple can be used in making different Ayurvedic medicines and you can use this dairy item as an ingredient of popular home remedies.

Other than use of ghee in cooking, it is a popular massage oil. External application of ghee has variety of benefits to offer, which supports as a natural beauty therapy for skin, hair, and bone development of kids.

Gee works as a taste enhancer in food dishes, which is quite popular in Indian, Pakistani, and Middle East cuisines.

For all these qualities ghee is rightly called a versatile kitchen staple. Ghee benefits are easy to implement. It is always wise to use organic 100% grass fed ghee from the market.

If you are planning to buy the best quality ghee for your kitchen, you can try Milkio organic grass fed ghee. Made in New Zealand from 100% grass fed cow milk, this dairy product will offer you all unique ghee benefits.

 Milkio ghee is lactose and casein free, hence you don’t need to wonder about “is ghee dairy free” or not.  You can add Milkio ghee in your lactose intolerant diet too. 

Ref :



Organic Ghee benefits – 7 impressive facts

Organic ghee in Dubai: enjoy your family recipe with this dairy delicacy


Ghee definition: why it is called an ayurvedic elixir

Best organic grass fed ghee: don’t buy unless you get to verify a few facts

Pure ghee: how to check its quality at home

Sheep ghee at Amazon: fabulous opportunity to improve your wellness

What’s ghee: how it is helpful for your fitness?

Read More :

  1. clarified butter brands
  2. protein in ghee
  3. where to buy ghee
  4. sheep ghee benefits
  5. ghee for eyes
  6. is ghee good for health
  7. disadvantages of ghee
  8. sheep ghee benefits for skin
  9. ghee benefits for skin
  10. ghee clarified butter
  11. grass fed organic ghee
  12. organic grass fed ghee
  13. eating ghee
Share Our Story :