The quantity of carbs in ghee is almost zero, and that makes ghee a Keto compatible cooking fat with lots of nutritional benefits.

The Keto or Ketogenic diet is a low-carb high-fat diet and globally it has gathered fame as a weight-loss diet plan.  How the no-carb formula of ghee plays a key role in the success of Keto diet planning is indeed interesting. But before that let’s check the ghee carb information in detail.

Lactose is the principal carbohydrate of milk. It composes about 2-8% of milk by weight. It serves as a source of energy and yields 4 calories per gm. It is a significant by-product of the dairy industry and has various applications in baby food, dietary products, pharmaceuticals, bakery industry, etc. 

Lactose contributes to the nutritional value of milk and milk products and has several therapeutic effects on the human body. But despite many dietary advantages, lactose is not suitable for all individuals. It causes a severe digestive disorder called lactose intolerance. Thus, people who suffer from lactose intolerance cannot consume dairy products rich in lactose. 

Ghee is a fat-rich, premium dairy product and almost free of lactose. It contains a too trace amount of lactose, around 0.05 to 2.9 mg/100 g. Thus, suitable for all those individuals suffering from dairy allergies and dietary restrictions. It is a delicious replacement for butter for them.

 

What is lactose?

Lactose is the characteristics carbohydrate in milk. It is known as milk sugar. It was discovered by the Italian Physician Fabrizio Bartoletti in 1633. In 1860, it was finally named “lactose” by Marcellin Berthelot. It has a formula of C₁₂H₂₂O₁₁. Lactose is a disaccharide, consists of two monosaccharide subunits, glucose, and galactose.

Cow’s milk contains about 4.8% lactose. It composes about 2–8% of milk by weight. It is dissolved in the whey phase (watery part) of milk. Whey is made up of 6.5% solids, of which 4.8% is lactose. 

The amount of lactose present in different dairy products varies depending on the manufacturing process.

Whole milk, standardized milk, or skimmed milk contain a high amount of lactose.

In contrast, fermented dairy products like yogurt, cheese, buttermilk, sour cream, kefir, etc., have significantly less lactose. This is because, during fermentation, the lactic acid bacteria produce an enzyme called lactase to ferment lactose into lactic acid in these products.

Fat-rich dairy products like butter, butter oil, clarified butter, and ghee clarified butter contain a trace amount of lactose as produced from the fat portion of milk. Among all these fat-rich products, ghee contains almost no lactose as the residual milk solids (lactose, milk protein, and ash) are sedimented during the manufacturing process and eventually removed through filtration.

 

What is lactose intolerance?

Lactose has several beneficial effects on the human body. These are: stimulating the nervous system, reducing cardiovascular diseases, helping in the absorption of calcium, manganese, and magnesium, sustaining Bifidobacterium growth in the intestine, inhibits pathogenic flora in the intestine through the generation of lactic acid, resulting from lactose breakdown by an intestinal enzyme called lactase. 

But it has an adverse effect on few individuals who cannot digest lactose due to the absence of intestinal enzyme lactase. This is a digestive disorder and known as Lactose Intolerance. It can cause severe gastrointestinal symptoms like gas bloat, abdominal cramps, pain, diarrhea, nausea, and vomiting.

Milk and milk products rich in lactose are stickily forbidden for such individuals. A few fermented dairy products can be allowed in moderate quantities as these products have live bacterial cultures that help break down and digest the lactose in milk. Fat rich dairy products like butter may not be suitable for them as it also contains a trace of lactose. Surprisingly, ghee is almost free of lactose and ideal for individuals suffering from lactose intolerance. 

 

How does ghee free of lactose?

 Ghee is pure milk fat. It contains not less than 99.6% fat. It is produced by heating unsalted cow milk butter above 100 degrees C until the butterfat and milk solids separate. Milk solids are allowed to caramelize through further cooking, giving ghee the characteristic aroma, flavor, and golden color. The ghee is then filtered to remove all residues. In this way, ghee’s manufacturing process removes almost all the moisture and lactose & milk protein as residues, leaving the pure milk fat. 

The analytical reports indicate that the lactose content of ghee is < 0.05 to 2.9 mg/100 g, whereas butter contains 685 to 688 mg/100 g of lactose. Thus, ghee is almost lactose-free and safe for individuals suffering from lactose intolerance. 

So, how do lactose-intolerant consumers can use ghee? 

As an alternative to butter: As butter contains lactose, it is not suitable for lactose-intolerant people. Ghee is a healthy and risk-free alternative to butter. 

 

Use ghee:
  • as a spread on morning toasts
  • to make the cake, cookies, and other bakery items. Ghee has a delicious buttery and nutty taste with caramelized aroma — this helps to produce a strong buttery taste and excellent flavor in bakery items
  • to pan-fry, roast, or sauté veggies and meat. It adds the complexity of aroma, taste, and texture in any food and elevates the flavor
  • for seasoning various recipes from world cuisines.   

 

You may go for the Milkio ghee range from Milkio Foods Limited New Zealand. Milkio Ghee is lactose-free and suitable for lactose-intolerant people.

Use Milkio ghee clarified butter as a replacement for butter. Enjoy its buttery taste and a pleasant aroma.



Read more:


Ref :