Is ghee vegetarian? Learn more about consuming ghee

  • August 7, 2021
  • Posted by:admin
  • Category:

Is ghee vegetarian?

Is ghee vegetarian? Before we answer this question, it is essential to understand the difference between veganism and vegetarianism. Vegetarians decide not to consume any form of meat or non-veg. Veganism is, however, more stringent and forbids beef, eggs, sweets, and all other animal goods such as leather and silk. The Vegetarian Society claims that Vegans are individuals who do not consume animal slaughter products or by-products.

Ghee is a common type of clarified butter made of cow’s milk. It isn’t vegan, but it is a widely used fat for cooking to be considered into other vegan dishes sometimes. According to a vegan diet, ghee does not count for vegan food requirements because milk is obtained from a cow. Therefore, ghee is not in the category of vegan food. But when it comes to the question that is ghee vegetarian? The answer is yes. Ghee is considered a vegetarian product as it does not include any solid milk parts during its making. Ghee is prepared in a clarifying process, eliminating the lactose and casein part of milk from butter.


Our milk comes from a good place. Trust in the quality and safety of New Zealand dairy products stems from our integrity as a country.

New Zealand is open and transparent and has earned trust the world over. New Zealand’s robust regulatory framework has built global confidence in our food safety and quality.

Source : NZ Story

Is ghee vegetarian
Is ghee vegetarian

Why is ghee confused with non-veg items?

Ghee is a milk oil, and it originates from an animal product as it is derived from milk. Ghee is formed by boiling unsalted butter, also known as clarified butter, and gradually evaporates the water part in this slow-cooking process. It transforms into a clarified form of butter which has a golden yellow color. So, as we mentioned earlier, food derived from an animal is counted as non-vegan. However, ghee supports the claim contrary as during the preparation, no milk residue in ghee, so it is a vegan product; well, there’s a fine line about ghee being vegan or not. 


Now that you have your answer to the question, is ghee vegetarian? You can try Milkio organic grass-food ghee. It is a dairy substitute without lactose and casein, suitable for lactose-intolerant persons. Milkio Ghee is organic ghee accredited and BioGro, NZ certified. The ghee is 100% natural and certified organic by USDA. Milkio ghee is among the healthiest cooking oil choices with a higher smoking point.

Read More:-

Reference Links:

Our Feed: