Tallow VS Ghee: Which is the best? Well, besides being perfectly suitable for high-heat cooking, both are dairy-free. As the milk solids are extracted and separated, both ghee and tallow fit individuals with lactose intolerance. Although both are exceptional alternatives to vegetable oils, there are a few differences in them. Let’s have a look.
Tallow VS Ghee Comparison: a brief comparison
Ghee: Ghee is clarified butter. In simple terms, ghee is just a form of butter that has been simmered and strained out of milk solids and water.
Tallow: Tallow is nothing but beef fat. The raw fat present around the kidneys and loins of cattle is known as suet. This suet is melted, simmered, and strained to produce tallow.
Ghee: Rich Yellow Hue in color with a silky-smooth texture. It is stored in containers/jars.
Tallow: White to Yellow with a solid texture. It is stored in jars.
Ghee: Ranges around 375 to 485°F. Generally, it depends on the purity of ghee.
Tallow: It has a smoke point of 400°F. With a high temperature, the tallow is excellent for deep frying.
Ghee: It offers a nutty flavor and taste specifically when it comes to Grass-fed ghee. Hence, ghee is used to make a variety of savory and sweet dishes.
Tallow: Tallow offers a beef fat flavor with a less neutral taste. It tastes the same as a bite of steak. Hence, tallow is strictly used only in savory foods as the flavor is easy to recognize.
Note: The flavor and color of ghee and tallow depend on the raw material and production process.
Ghee: Ghee is excellent for high-temperature cooking like sauteing, high-heat frying, and roasting.
Tallow: Tallow shines when fried or roasted. You can use it when you wish to make your vegetable dish meat-rich.
Ghee and Tallow Similarities:
Both ghee and tallow are brilliant moisturizers and skin balms. You can apply them to the dry areas of your skin. However, both get greasy after a while.
When it comes to Tallow VS Ghee comparison, both are stable and reliable. Further, both are saturated fats suitable to cook at higher temperatures. Vegan or vegetarians can’t include tallow in their diet, whereas ghee is a good fit for all cuisines and all diet styles.