Ghee casein: how it is an important factor for choosing ghee
Ghee casein is an important dietary issue. Those who are lactose intolerant should avoid having casein in their diet because casein may cause food allergy. It is important for these food sensitive people to stay alert of their milk or milk product consumption to avoid the risk of food allergy.
Ghee, being a milk product, contains many health benefits that milk contains. Milk intolerants are called lactose intolerant as milk content in dairy triggers the food allergy. According to research, other than lactose, casein, the milk protein stands responsible for food allergy in some humans. It is called casein allergy. Therefore we can safely conclude that ghee-casein combo is not desirable.
Now it is important to understand the ghee-casein coincidence. Casein, being the milk protein, remains in milk, especially in the mammal’s milk. It has been observed that op to four kinds of casein protein can be found in a mammal’s milk, however, the quantity of this milk protein largely depends on some farming related conditions.
The common conditions that may decide the casein measure in mammals’ milk are:
- From which animal the milk is collected
- The milking cycle of the involved animal and the location of the farm
- The duration of the concerned animal’s lactation period
- The diet of the lactating animal
In choosing ghee, therefore the farming quality has to be taken in count. It has been observed that 100% grass fed cow milk contains lesser quantity of casein, hence dairy produced from grass fed cow milk may contain lesser quantity of casein.
Many dairy products contain casein, but not all do. Because casein is a protein, it’s found mostly in dairy products with moderate-to-high protein content such as:
- low-fat milk
- ice cream
Dairy products containing less protein and more fat, such as butter and cream, contain very little casein. Clarified butter, or ghee, contains ideally no casein at all.
Therefore ghee casein relation is almost incoherent, as good quality ghee hardly contains casein milk protein.
Ghee is manufactured by boiling ghee butter, and in this boiling process, casein gets eliminated from the buttery fat. The ghee butter becomes more clarified and hence it is called clarified butter. Ideally clarified butter does not contain casein. But it is not obviously guaranteed that all ghee products are casein free. Want to be sure about the ghee-casein factor? Go for organic 100% grass fed cow ghee, where you can be sure about proper casein elimination.
What is casein?
But what makes casein a food villain? Let’s take a quick look at the allergy symptoms of casein. Symptom and its intensity may vary from one, so it is better to know about this protein first. Let’s see how casein is scientifically defined!
“Caseins are well-defined as proteins that become viscous and precipitated from milk when the pH of milk is adjusted to pH 4.6 at 20°C. WP is the protein remains soluble at pH 4.6 after the precipitation of caseins, and includes β-lactoglobulin (β-Lg), α-lactalbumin (α-La), bovine serum albumin (BSA), immunoglobulin (Ig), and lactoferrin (Lf)”. (https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/food-science/casein)
What is Casein allergy?
Casein protein is found in milk and many other dairy products. A casein allergy is observed when your body erroneously recognizes casein as a danger to the health system. Your body then triggers a reaction in an effort to fight it off. Ghee casein reaction is found seldom, but if it is found it can be painful to an extent.
Casein allergy is unlike than lactose intolerance, which happens when a human body doesn’t make adequate of the enzyme lactase. Lactose intolerance will make you feel irritated after having dairy. However, a casein allergy including ghee-casein reaction mostly cause:
- Intensified Pain
- Food Mal-Absorption
- Breathing Snags
Casein causes internal inflammation and that is why ignites several physical discomforts for the people having food sensitivity.
How to avoid casein in ghee?
Ghee casein is not a very desirable combo so with easy effort you can get to avoid casein in your dairy dose. In vase of buying ghee, you can three major precautions.
- Check if the ghee is made from 100% grass fed cow milk. Grass fed cow milk contains lesser quantity of casein in milk. Grass fed cow ghee will offer you better benefits in contrast to ghee procured from grain feed cow milk.
- Always use a certified organic and grass fed cow ghee. You will get to check the certification from the product label. Always check if the product is certified as ghee casein free product.
- Always avoid using homemade ghee as in most of the cases you do not know the origin of the cow milk and its quality, cow’s diet, etc. All homemade cow ghee cannot be certified as a casein free product, and therefore cannot be used if you have milk allergy or you have food sensitivity.
This aforementioned discussion clearly proves that ghee casein is an important point to count on and it is safe to use cow ghee which is completely casein free. However, all cow ghee sold in market are not casein free in reality, therefore check the product label for authenticity.
Want to use a risk free casein free cow ghee? You can try Milkio organic 100% grass fed ghee in your kitchen. Produced in New Zealand, Milkio ghee is produced from 100% grass fed cow milk. It is organic certified and is produced without synthetic flavor, color, and preservative, etc. It is completely free from lactose and ghee casein, hence people with food sensitivity can have Milkio in their food worry-free.
Ghee casein confusion?
Try Milkio and stay risk free from the irritation of dairy food allergy. Milkio cow ghee is available online and in regular retail counter as well.
Reference Links :
Grassfed Ghee, Grassfed Brown Butter, Bulk Butter Oil, Clarified Butter, Ghee, Brown Butter, Brown Butter Ghee,Private Label Butter Oils,ghee white label agreement. white label distribution, private label products nz, ghee private label. private label keto coffee, private label, private label nz, private label mct oil, private label food manufacturers, white label products