Detected country by CBR: United States (US)
Is ghee vegan: a brief overview

Is ghee vegan: a brief overview

Is ghee Vegan?

It’s a tricky question indeed. From centuries, Ghee is being used in Indian and Middle East cuisine for cooking both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dished and it is considered mostly as a natural dairy product. In Indian cuisine, milk is considered a vegetarian product and as ghee is milk produce, ghee was mostly categorized as a vegetarian food.  But with its recent popularity in the USA, the question of its Vegan quality has come up. 

But before that let’s check what Veganism is.

What is Veganism?

To understand the catch that is ghee vegan or not, you have to understand first what veganism is. In short, it is a lifestyle that eliminates all types of animal products’ use and it is done to stop exploiting animals and animal products as maximum as possible.

The term “vegan” was selected by merging the first and last letters of “vegetarian.”

Veganism is currently well-defined as a mode of living that efforts to eliminate all forms of animal mistreatment and cruelty, be it in the form of procuring food, clothing, or any other related purpose.

What is the catch with ghee? Why some people call it non-vegan?

Ghee is a milk product and when it is procured from milk, it is obviously originated from an animal product. Also known as clarified butter, ghee is produced by churning ghee butter and in this slow-cooking process the moisture part of milk gets gradually evaporated. When ghee butter gets more clarified, it turns into ghee.

In this ghee making process butter gets free from milky proteins like lactose, and casein. This is one of the reasons ghee is mostly free of allergy risk for lactose and casein intolerants.  However, as ghee is produced from an animal product, it is claimed by few vegan dieters that ghee cannot be called a pure vegan food.  It means, that people on strict vegan diet will probably discard to have ghee in their diet questioning is ghee vegan, etc.  

How is Ghee Made?

Ghee is made from butter, and it contains milk solids, butterfat, and some moisture. When regular butter gets heated, the moisture vaporizes, and the milk solids gets separated. The process of making ghee gets rid of the lactose and makes pure butter oil, which is composed almost entirely of fat.

But is ghee vegan still remains a fix.

Ghee is usually made from cow’s milk and is measured as an animal-derived product. If you’re vegan, be sure to mention that you don’t take ghee especially while ordering for Indian food as well as for ordering Middle East recipes.

However, in many places vegan versions are cooked with vegetable oils. However, these vegetable oil version may get high in trans-fat. When purchasing this, vegans should prudently check the label to get sure that the product does not contain any non-vegan secondary components. In terms of taste and health benefits is ghee vegan question becomes a secondary issue.

Some people say, ghee is vegan

According to some diet freaks, ghee contains butterfat and it is derived from the animal products (milk), and this is the reason, it cannot be considered vegan.  But people often count that as during the manufacturing process, milk part gets completely removed from ghee and that is why ghee becomes completely fat based product. The answer to the question is ghee vegan becomes surely negative.

Ghee or clarified butter has significantly gained in popularity in the United States over recent years. It is typically used in American cooking for frying or in place of cooking oils because of its very high smoke point. Ghee is made from butter. Butter consists of butter fat, milk solids, and moisture. So it is made from animal products.

How ghee is made?

Regular butter is heated until the moisture is evaporated and the milk solid gets separate. What remains after the milk solids are ghee or some amount of butter fat. The removal of moisture to create ghee greatly upturns its shelf life for more than a few months. After all the milk reminiscent remains in ghee.

Vegans follow very exact dietary restrictions, the most vital of which vetoes all animal products and by-products. While this removes obvious foods like meat, it also extends to eggs and dairy, as they care taken out from an animal.

Many vegans substitute canola oils or coconut oil instead of ghee when cooking. While ghee is a strict no-go for vegans, few nutritionists say it might be handy for people with lactose sensitivities to digest. Basically, as the milk solids have been eliminated, the leftover ghee will only have negligible traces of lactose, ghee vegan recipes are hot hit here.

Is ghee vegan or not hardly matters here.

A Message to Vegans and the Vegan-Curious people

Even with milk fats removed, ghee remains always an animal byproduct. However, integrative neurologist, Kulreet Chaudhary, M.D., author of The Prime: Prepare and Repair Your Body for Spontaneous Weight Loss advocates for the “mid path” when approaching veganism and counsels against dietary inflexibility. Although she remains mostly vegan herself, she includes grass-fed ghee in her diet as she “believed (and research say also) that this is the healthiest (and most humane and ecologically reverential) way to eat.” she says is ghee vegan or not, moderate ghee in diet offers lots of health benefits.


Milkio organic grass fed gee is lactose and casein free dairy product. It is used in making vegan dishes in many kitchens, although concept wise it is not a vegan product. Milkio ghee is a certified organic quality ghee and one of the healthiest options for health safe cooking oil. Milkio grass fed is available for online purchase as well as in grocery stores for regular purchase. It is used by lots of vegan freaks overlooking is ghee vegan question completely.


  1. Milkio is the only New Zealand exporter of ghee
  2. The company’s range includes Organic Cow Ghee, Grass Fed Sheep Ghee, 

Reference Links :


Grassfed Ghee, Grassfed Brown Butter, Bulk Butter Oil, Clarified Butter, Ghee, Brown Butter, Brown Butter Ghee,Private Label Butter Oils,ghee white label agreement. white label distribution, private label products nz, ghee private label. private label keto coffee, private label, private label nz, private label mct oil, private label food manufacturers, white label products