Ghee casein: how it is an important factor for choosing ghee
Ghee casein is a significant dietary issue. Those who are food sensitive should avoid having casein in their diet because casein may cause food allergies. These food sensitive people need to stay alert of their milk or milk product consumption to avoid the risk of food allergy.
What is Casein allergy?
Ghee, being a milk product, contains many health benefits that milk offers. Milk intolerants are mostly found lactose intolerant as milk content in dairy triggers the food allergy. According to research, other than lactose, casein, the milk protein also stands responsible for food allergy in some humans. It is called casein allergy. Therefore we can safely conclude that the ghee-casein combo is not desirable.
Now it is vital to understand the ghee-casein coincidence. Casein, being the milk protein, remains in milk, especially in the mammal’s milk. It has been observed that up to four kinds of casein protein are found in a mammal’s milk; however, the quantity of this milk protein largely depends on some farming related conditions.
- The common conditions that may decide the Casein measure in mammals’ milk are:
- From which animal the milk is collected
- The milking cycle of the involved animal, and the location of the farm
- The duration of the concerned animal’s lactation period
- The diet of the lactating animal.
In choosing ghee, therefore, the farming intricacies have to be taken into count. According to research, 100% grass-fed cow milk contains a lesser quantity of casein, hence ghee manufacturers prepare dairy like ghee from grass-fed cow milk, it is safely guessed that grass-fed cow milk may contain a lesser quantity of casein.
Many dairy products contain casein, but there is an exception too.
Casein limited products are also available in the consumer market. As casein is the milk-protein, it’s found mostly in dairy products with moderate-to-high protein content such as:
- low-fat milk
- ice cream
Dairy products containing less protein and more fat, such as butter and cream, which usually contain very little casein. Clarified butter, or ghee, contains ideally no casein at all.
Therefore ghee casein relation is almost incoherent, as good quality ghee hardly contains casein milk protein.
How ghee gets prepared?
Ghee is manufactured by boiling ghee butter, and in this boiling process, casein gets eliminated from the buttery fat. The ghee butter becomes more clarified, and hence it is called clarified butter.
Ideally clarified butter does not contain casein. But it is not guaranteed that all ghee products are casein free. Want to be sure about the ghee-casein factor? Go for organic 100% grass-fed cow ghee, where you can be sure about proper casein elimination.
What is casein?
But what makes casein a food villain? Let’s take a quick look at the allergy symptoms of casein. Symptom and its intensity may vary from one, so it is better to know about this protein first. Let’s see how casein is scientifically defined!
“Caseins are well-defined as proteins that become viscous and precipitated from milk when the pH of milk is adjusted to pH 4.6 at 20°C. WP is the protein remains soluble at pH 4.6 after the precipitation of caseins and includes β-lactoglobulin (β-Lg), α-lactalbumin (α-La), bovine serum albumin (BSA), immunoglobulin (Ig), and lactoferrin (Lf)”. (https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/food-science/casein)
What is Casein allergy?
Casein protein is found in milk and many other dairy products. A casein allergy is observed when your body erroneously recognizes casein as a danger to the health system. Your body then triggers a reaction to fight it off. Ghee casein reaction is found rarely, but if found, it can be painful to an extent.
Casein allergy is unlike lactose intolerance, which happens when a human body doesn’t make adequate of the enzyme lactase.
Lactose intolerance will make you feel irritated after having dairy. However, a casein allergy including ghee-casein reaction mostly cause:
- Intensified Pain
- Food Mal-Absorption
- Breathing Snags
Casein causes internal inflammation, and that is why ignites several physical discomforts for people having food sensitivity.
How to avoid casein in ghee?
Ghee casein is not a very desirable combo, so with the easy effort, you can get to avoid casein in your daily dose of dairy. In the process of buying ghee, you can ensure three major precautions.
Check if the ghee is made from 100% grass-fed cow milk. Grass-fed cow milk contains a lesser quantity of casein in milk. Grass-fed cow ghee will offer you better benefits in contrast to ghee procured from grain feed cow milk.
Always use a certified organic and grass-fed cow ghee. You will get to check the certification from the product label. Always check if the product is certified as a ghee casein-free product.
Always avoid using homemade ghee as in most of the cases you do not know the origin of the cow milk and its quality, cow’s diet, etc. All homemade cow ghee cannot be certified as a casein-free product, and therefore cannot be used if you have a milk allergy or you have a food sensitivity.
This aforementioned discussion proves that ghee casein is an important point to count on, and it is safe to use completely casein-free cow ghee. However, all cow ghee sold in the market are not casein free in reality, therefore check the product label for authenticity.
Ghee casein confusion?
As casein is one of the triggers of food sensitivity for food allergic people, and therefore you must avoid foods that contain casein. Milk made products like butter contains casein, but ghee clarified butter is a casein-free product although it is milk-made.
Want to use risk-free casein-free cow ghee?
You can try Milkio organic 100% grass-fed ghee in your kitchen. Produced in New Zealand, Milkio ghee is produced from 100% grass-fed cow milk. It is organic certified and is produced without synthetic flavor, color, and preservative, etc. It is completely free from lactose and ghee casein, hence people with food sensitivity can have Milkio in their food worry-free.
The ghee is a Non-GMO product, and its non-GMO and organic claim is certified by BioGro, New Zealand. Milkio organic grass-fed ghee is USDA certified for its purity. Bring home Milkio Foods manufactured organic grass-fed ghee, which is lactose and casein-free. Hence, free from the risk of food allergy.
Reference Links :
Grassfed Ghee, Grassfed Brown Butter, Bulk Butter Oil, Clarified Butter, Ghee, Brown Butter, Brown Butter Ghee,Private Label Butter Oils,ghee white label agreement. white label distribution, private label products nz, ghee private label. private label keto coffee, private label, private label nz, private label mct oil, private label food manufacturers, white label products